May media log

fahrenheit 451 Last month‘s rules still apply. Adding GAMES as a new media category.

BOOKS:

COMICS / GRAPHIC:

MOVIES:

TV / EPISODES: 

  • Bee and PuppyCat
  • Adventure Time
  • Bob’s Burgers

GAMES: 

OTHER: 

  • Origins of the Human Mind (The Great Courses, audio)
  • “A Hunger Artist,” Franz Kafka (short story, 1922)
  • “The Yellow Wallpaper,” Charlotte Perkins Gilman (short story, 1982)

Thoughts & reflections: 

  • Trying to catch up on some more contemporary YA this month. That means I get to be the 25-year-old creeper in the teen room of the library, yay! Nova Ren Suma rocks.
  • I’m chipping away at my “I should have already read this by now but for some reason haven’t” list with Fahrenheit 451 and A Wrinkle in Time. As a Bradbury fan, I don’t understand why, out of all his books, I hadn’t yet read his most well-known classic. For shame. I was reminded of Interstellar when reading A Wrinkle. It probably should’ve happened the other way around.
  • So, Y The Last Man. The library only has books 1-3 and so now I flail, distressed, debating how I ought to go about completing the series. Guess I’ll just have to be that pain in the neck who requests all the remaining volumes from affiliate local libraries (I see they only have volumes, not the deluxe edition books). Usin’ my resources, that’s what I do.
  • Nananana Batman!! Nolan noir Batman might still be “in,” but I’ll always have a special place in my heart for campy Batman. I mean, when you really break it down, he’s a dude dressed like a bat. Why so serious?
  • I LOVE that a 95-year-old twist ending can still catch me off guard! Seriously, call me uncultured, but I had no idea about Dr. Caligari‘s psychological plot twist, and I’m glad I didn’t, because it made it just that more fun and surprising.
  • I also love that there’s a 94-year gap in the release dates of the movies I watched this month. What happened? Guess I was more drawn to the newer stuff in May. The Babadook was 2spooky4me. But for real, it was great.
  • Playing point-and-click games really just makes me long for a new Amanita game. Samarost 3 please come out soooon. Still nothing beats the beauty of Machinarium, though Broken Age comes close.
  • Where my nonfic at?! I need to mix in some nonfic and documentaries next month.
  • Lots of good stuff this month, but no new “all time favorites” in any category. Maybe it was just my mood.

Ideas for next month:

  • Related, I’m starting a more organized “production” log next month to keep track of the creative work I’m producing (poems,  stories, crafts, etc.), not just what I’m consuming. If all goes well, I’ll be posting that to the blog, too.
Leave a Reply

